What’s in a Headline?

Read a headline in my newspaper this morning: Alabama Murderer Executed for Killing His Wife. So many synonyms!  I couldn’t help but rewrite this euphemistic wording it in my head:

Killer Killed for Killing His Wife

Murderer Murdered for Murdering His Wife

Executioner Executed for Executing His Wife

When you write it like that, it all seems kind of redundant and ridiculous; although, I’m sure the victim’s family doesn’t think that way.  I’m not saying the death penalty is right or wrong; I’m just pointing out how we whitewash the stains from our words to make ourselves seem more civilized.

2 thoughts on “What’s in a Headline?

Leave a Reply

