The Truth

Just finished another short story.  Which is to say, I’m finished with the creative part, I never finished with the editing part.

The stories I have on this blog are the tip of the iceberg, to use a cliché.  Mostly, they are shorts that I had posted on a now defunct writing site.  You might even call them ancient, beginner pieces.

I always find the point of completion a little sad, like saying goodbye to old friends.  ‘Farewell.  Maybe we will meet again.  Maybe, I’ll sub you someday.’ But the truth is a little less noble.  There are literally hundreds of pieces stored on my laptop.

The whole process of matching my prose to just the right magazine stresses me out.  Compounding that is my mix of genres.  Strangely, I find reasons not to submit. Exactly what I’m waiting for, I can not say.  Truth be told:  Of all the stories stashed on my hard drive, I have only one subbed out at the moment.  Ask me why, and I have no logical, legitimate answer.

Today, I almost subbed my latest to a magazine that seemed a good match.  Typically, I fished around, until I found a goodbye letter from the out-going editor.  In the letter, she said that although she was leaving the magazine, she had already selected and edited the stories for 2011, so her name would still be all over the site for another year.  (paraphrasing here)  Holy Smokes!  That means that if you got accepted, you still would not be in print for another until 2012.  I can’t tell you how depressing that sounded to me.  But then again, there’s always a reason to NOT do something.

Of course, I know what you’re thinking, ‘Tsk. tsk.’

 

3 thoughts on “The Truth

  1. Overcoming reasons not to submit something can be difficult. I haven’t written very many short stories/magazine articles. For the ones I have written, I haven’t found many places to submit them yet. Researching the market is the most difficult part of writing for me. I’ve read several magazines that delay publishing pieces for quite a while. I agree, it is depressing. Hang in there!

  2. As far as saying “goodbye” to a piece, the poet, Paul Valery, said: “A poem is never finished, only abandoned.”

    As far as submissions go, I’m a dedicated self-publisher. Still, I’ve been known to reject myself 🙂

  3. Of course, you are both correct. I will henceforth dedicate one day per week toward researching sites. I found a site yesterday called, ‘Science in My Fiction’ and got excited, but after reading a few stories and comments, I decided I was in deep water. Whaha!

    I will never stop writing. Whether I join the herd to publish remains a question. Until then, I’m going no where fast, but, oh, what an amusing trip.

Leave a Reply

