Interview with Used Bookstore Owner

Newsflash:  C.M. went to town yesterday.  (Strange, they didn’t have a parade.  I am becoming quite the hermit.  Also, my son is a medic in the Navy, and I reason that I should not waste gasoline—don’t want to make the Arabs rich, richer.)

  1. Saw the movie Sanctum. (Wasted two fins, as they say in the old Sam Spade novels.)
  2. Ate a Hawaiian salad with lime dressing. (Delicious experimentation.)
  3. Used my rusty journalism tactics to interview the owner of a used bookstore. (Forgot to bring a business card.  Drat!)

They say that if you want to know the real value of something, access its resale price.  If that hypothesis is true and if what the owner of the store said is true, then paranormal books are the undisputed rulers of his slightly damaged and musty books.

The classics languish untouched, until college students with a ‘required reading list’ come in to buy them. (Humph!  What do you think of that?)

Romance novels are no longer accepted in trade, unless they are romance/paranormal books.  You know the kind: the ones where a buxom, young girl falls in love with a vampire, ghost, or ghoul.  Apparently, young girls are still attracted to the bad boys.  That’s dumb!  But then no one has ever had control of female hormones, including the females themselves.  (Thank Goodness, my noodle always ruled over my hormones—eventually.  Ha!  Oh, they may have argued from time to time.)

Chicken-soup stories are no longer popular in the recycle bin, either.

True crime novels are so popular that he didn’t have any.  Science fiction holds it’s own, about even on trade-ins.

He wouldn’t admit to having any risqué books.  (There must, still, be something angelic in the way I look and the soft lilt of my voice that gives a good first impression.  I remember, one time in high school when a teacher was lecturing the class on the benefits of obeying the rules, the teacher looked at me and said, ‘I bet you never break the rules.’  After my friends got through laughing, I said, ‘I get my homework done if that’s what you mean.’  Anyway, I digress…)

Horror and paranormal books are big sellers.  In fact, he has strict rules and large, hand-printed signs about trade-ins for these books.  One must bring 5 paranormals to get 1 paranormal.  One can not, for instance, bring 10 classics to trade for 1 paranormal.

Well, I could never write a romance novel, not even a paranormal one.  I’m just too jaded and practical.  I did buy 3 Bentley Little books to simulated my muse of horror.  (Had to pay cash, ‘cause I forgot to bring my trade-ins.  Damn, that’s what happens when you neglect the right side of your brain for art.)

Author’s Note:  Of course, that’s the commercial viewpoint. I thought it interesting.

5 thoughts on “Interview with Used Bookstore Owner

  1. Phew, my paranormal book is good. 😀 I wonder, where to fantasy and YA fall in his eyes? That’s what I tend to write… I also didn’t expect to find true crime that popular, to be honest. This WAS interesting! Thanks for posting!

    • Um, I didn’t ask about YA. I know that it’s very popular in the freshly printed books.

      Here’s an idea: why don’t you guys go interview a used book store owner in your area. Maybe, my result are localized.

Leave a Reply

