Self Promotion, Part Three

In part one and part two, we talked about advertising, basically.

In part three, I’m going to stretch myself so far out on the limb that you’re probably going to knock me off like a cheap Christmas tree ornament.  I’m going to speak about the greatest fear that every writer has.

No, it’s not the fear of rejection.  If you’ve been in the game long, you are well acquainted with rejection.  (raspberry!) I’m talking about the fear of plagiarism.  Ooh, yes, even as I say the word you are drawing your manuscript to your chest and checking your security status.

But…

Just like our children, we must let our prose fly free.  Unlike our children, we must trust that we will produce more stories and poems.  Right now the important thing is to launch ourselves from our hideaways and our secret journals.

Ah, if we can only catch a little wind in our sails…

Stop…

I know exactly what you are thinking.  I’m reading your mind.  Ommm, Ummm. You’re shaking your head yes and scheming behind my back:  I will give more, but not my very best stuff.  I know this, because I am guilty of holding back my best.

We ( I type the word we, but I’m thinking the words me-me-me ) must not worry about someone printing our story and passing it around the office.  This is success, not theft.  We can only pray that our names and a url address appears somewhere on that sheet that’s making the rounds.

Thoughts?  Debates?  Any plans formulating?

BTW:  If anyone wants to pick up this tread, I love to read your ideas on the subject.  Even if you are going to say, ‘That CM is all wet.’

I just now speculating about all this, myself.

In fact, I’d love to read it even more when you disagree.

I have a superior sense of humor, if I do say so myself.  And I have been known to be wrong–once–two times, tops.

5 thoughts on “Self Promotion, Part Three

  1. Well, you may have seen me write about this on my blog, but I’ve been giving away copies of my book for months now; and, even when it’s officially published in May and people can pay money for it, I will still offer free copies.

    Two reasons:

    * I want people to read it.

    * Two well-known authors claim that giving a book away increases sales…

    Here’s an article from one of those authors

    I could be dead wrong but giving it away would seem to defeat the “problem” of folks trying to rip it off…

  2. “On the way to the wedding dressed in black.

    Plagiarism is evil. Sharing is nice. People better be sharing our works, because that’s how it spreads. We need to be a disease, infecting everyone’s computer. BWAHAHAHAHHAA!

    I work at a university, and every Monday night I work with a student worker, who happens to be an English major desiring to be a writer. When I found out I wrote, he began to read my works on my site and we constantly talk about writing now while we work. Last week he handed me a copy of a short story he had written for a class and turned in that day. I instantly grabbed a pen, maybe it’s the teacher in me that never was, and acknowledged that I like to have a pen handy in case I catch a typo–because nobody likes a typo. As I read I marked up his work with a few typos here and there, nothing much. A few per page, which was understandable, because he had written in one sitting and hadn’t had time to edit. He was sort of torn up about the errors, and I just reaffirmed him it was no big deal, and especially because it’s not graded until after several edit rounds anyway. A few moments later his cell phone rang and he was talking to a buddy about his story and said, “I had Nathan look it over, and he has marks on it on almost every page. Two or three typos a page.” And while he was grieving over the typos, I was appreciative of the fact that he referred to me by first name only and apparently the person knew who I was. Which meant, he was talking about me. And that was awesome. And that’s what we all need. I shared my works with him, and he is sharing with others.

    Technically your discussion is still advertising related, me thinks.

    • Oops, I meant to put an end quote on “On the way to the wedding dressed in black.” And I meant to make that make sense too… it’s a lyric from a song called “Written in Blood” by She Wants Revenge. And all that was to make the point that by sharing a lyric (which is not my own) and telling you who wrote it comes free advertising. Technically I’m not suppose to share lyrics like that, but I just did the band a favor.

      Sharing = credited.
      Plagiarism = uncredited.

    • Funny thing isn’t it? I actually enjoy helping others with their stories, but people get so bent-out-of-shape when you make corrections that I decided to give up on writing critiques. Now, I only speak to other writers on ‘general’ terms, except for a few friends that I know are going to scream at me or breakdown into hysterical sobs. I don’t understand why some people think they can just pick up a pen and whip out a classic. Writing is like anything else–practice, practice. And then…even if you get good at it, there’s another hurdle–publishing.

Leave a Reply

