Beware

I just received an email from the Chattahoochee Valley Writer’s Contest.  In part, it reads:

…Thank you for entering our contest this year.  You can enter the 2012 contest starting now through September 1, 2012.  Contest results will be announced at the beginning of the CVWC Conference on Saturday, September 29, 2012….

with a $15 fee, of course.

The only trouble with this is that I DID NOT enter this year or last year, but 3 years ago.  Whahah!

Do I need any more proof that my name and any story that I may or may not enter will be shuffled off to the LOSERS LIST—probably, unread????

Why don’t they just say:  Sorry Sucker, but send more money.  We like money.  We don’t like you.

Ah, reality is a bummer, ain’t it????

I know that many of you are eager to be published, but watch out.  MOO:  Don’t enter any writing contests unless you know somebody who knows somebody.  The literary world works the same way the rest of the world works.  Not what you know, but who you know.

6 thoughts on “Beware

  1. Hmmm…why would you enter a contest that requires an entrance fee, unless it is perhaps for a work of major proportions? Now maybe if it were the Lake Okeechobee contest, I might. 🙂

    • Long time ago, my friend. Everyone has a right to be dumb once or twice. I think, I found this particular contest tempting because it was local–like there’s some kind of delusion that local people are more honest than people who live on the other side of the continent. A friend recommended it–not that they won anything either or even received a response to their submission. Oh, hell, I don’t know what I was thinking. Yeah, okay, I pissed 15 bucks. Now, that I think about it, it was 4 years ago–at least.

  2. Well this is good to know, because I keep hearing over and over that the only way for new writers to break in is to enter and place in writing contests. Personally, I’d rather query until I die. So good.

    • I hesitate to write this kind of post, because I don’t want to sound like a cry baby. Boo-hoo, I didn’t win. I just envision people getting together and saying, let’s raise some money. When the entry come in they have 2 boxes. One for the bank and one for the trashcan. Easy money. Bawahaha.

      The only thing that I know that really works is to get to know an editor. Check out editors names on magazines and see if you can find them on Facebook or something like that. You know, and shamose them. Or write a really engaging introductory email–short but witty. Not the usual blah, blah.

  3. I entered a writing contest several years back and subsequently received a letter stating my poem would be published. But I needed to send some money and subscribe to their publication first. Needless to say, I didn’t and it wasn’t.

    • Bahawaha! I wish I had that siren affect or a gong for this one. Scam alert!

      Personally, I’d only submit to a No-Entry fee magazine. Also, I check to see if any of the Staff are allowed to publish in the magazine that they work for. Call me crazy, but I just figure that market is only for the Buds. Also, I never sub to a magazine using a regular blog, such as this one. It has to be an official Web site.

      I’m not saying: Don’t submit. I’m just saying: Look out for the Trolls.

Leave a Reply

