Break that stuff up for me

Do you tag surf?  Yeah, me too.  It can be fun.  It can be dangerous too, bumping into crazies.  One lady got all upset with me the other day because I said:  Since I do not own any goats or cows, I want to get rid of most of the grass in my yard.

I’m an unrepentant Grass Killer, apparently.  Gasp!   Kook-a-roo naturalist.  It’s a good thing I didn’t tell her that I kill fire ants too.

Anyway, I got a real beef with tag-surfing.  Most people don’t know about the Split Content option on their menu bar.  It’s between the link icon and the ABC icon on Add New Post.  I really wish more people would use it.  Do you know how boring it is to scroll past a long post and endless pictures that you don’t want to see???

There are added benefits to using Split Content.  You don’t stuff your subscriber’s e-mail with a long post, you don’t hog the landscape on tag surfing and if they click the ‘read more’ link, it will make a hit on your blog.  (Think about it:  If they can read your entire post in the In-box of an email or on the tag surfer, then they don’t have to go to your blog to finish reading.)  And when they finally do get to your blog, one page will show a lot more posts and titles.  And it just looks nicer, neater.

Plus:  it will teach you to punch-up your opening lines.  And I will get to read more posts on tag surfer.

Will the whole world change for me right now???

8 thoughts on “Break that stuff up for me

  1. I used to tag surf all the time but haven’t in a while. Funny thing is, did they change something? Or have I forgotten how? Now when I click on a tag, it only displays similarly tagged posts within my own blog…

    • You can change, add or delete the ‘subscribed tags’ before you start surfing. I do it all the time. Right now I’ve got writing, fiction, science, gardening and survival skills listed, which are not necessarily the tags that I use on my own stuff. Don’t get too many hits on science or survival skills thought. Pity. And apparently, I’m not smart enough to commune with the science techs, so I’ve learned to just listen. Whaha! Hoping I pick up some inspiration for a story, but not so far. Bit dry, they are. But don’t tell them I said so. 🙂

      • Now I see. It has changed. You used to be able to click on the tags on your own posts and it would open a page with a bunch of other WordPress posts (from other bloggers) with that tag. Now they have Tag Surfer” in the Dashboard. It makes more sense the way they have it now.

        Science techs are dry? I don’t believe it.

    • Someone else told me. Great to have smart friends. Be sure to have your cursor or blinking thing where you want the split to happen in the document. Even a small thing like that can be an editorial decision–how much hook and bait do I need?

Leave a Reply

