Who Knew?

See the Light

 

…and I thought an edit was just an edit.  But no, the experts break it down into logical and productive steps.

 

 

1.  Rewrites, revisions and substantive edit:  I guess, you’ call this the Big Picture.

(I’m particularly talented at this stage, IMHO.)

2.  Line Edit:  An engine check.  Does it work?  Does it flow?  Is it logical?  Is every action followed by a reaction?  Is the POV consistent?

(I get a passable grade on this one, too.)

3.  Copyedit:  This is where The Grammar Police issue tickets.

(I’m still above average, I think.)

4. Proofreading:  A final check of every word, letter and punctuation.

(Okay, here’s where I fall down.  By this stage, I can almost recite the work without looking, and I’ve become blind to all errors.  I have found some success by backing away from the piece and letting it sit for an indefinite period of time.)

***

Author’s Note:  Now that it’s been explained to me it seems perfectly logical.  Although, I edit in this fashion anyway, but it’s never occurred to me  to divide the work like this.  One good lesson:  Don’t waste time with proofreading until everything else is in place.  

So, if you go the route of traditional publishing, first you have to make it past the head honcho and then you get shuffled down the chain.  That must be a grueling process.

Resources:

The Steve Laube Agency 

Wikipedia: Copy Editing

Wikipedia:  Proofreading

Also interesting:  The Fact Check as an entry level to journalism.

3 thoughts on “Who Knew?

  1. i agree, BUT…I found that the most foolproof way to edit is to READ THE TEXT ALOUD. If you do that, you’ll probablyhave a lot of pronouncing those misspelled words.

    Also, spell check will find misspelled words, but it won’t find homophones. (You know those “gay” words that you might have used accidentally??) That’s a joke, but spellcheck won’t be able to distinguish between THEIR and THEY’RE, its and it’s…

Leave a Reply

